The Dicks

Canzoni contro la guerra di The Dicks
MusicBrainzMusicBrainz DiscogsDiscogs Stati Uniti Stati Uniti

The DicksThe Dicks are an American punk rock band from Austin, Texas, originally formed in 1980. They initially disbanded in 1986 before reforming in 2004. The Dicks are considered influential in introducing the sound of hardcore punk and incorporating blues rock influences into their sound.

The band went through two distinct incarnations, changing its lineup (sans singer Gary Floyd) when they moved from Austin to San Francisco in 1983, and later reviving a version of its original lineup in 2004. As a politically radical band with left-wing and marxist lyrics during the Reagan era, they did not shy from controversy. Floyd was one of a handful of openly gay musicians in the 1980s hardcore scene.

The band was formed in Austin in 1980 by Gary Floyd, Buxf Parrot, Pat Deason and Glen Taylor. Their first single "Dicks Hate The Police", released in 1980, brought them much attention (it was later covered by Mudhoney) and is now regarded as a classic hardcore record. In the song Gary Floyd portrays a policeman who abuses his power by going after minorities and taking his anger out on civilians. The B-side, "Lifetime Problems," was even more influential for its speed and ferocity; in fact, San Francisco's Flipper paid it the sincerest form of flattery with their next single, "Ha Ha Ha." The Dicks often played with fellow Texans Big Boys and in 1981 released a split album entitled Live at Raul's Club with them (outtakes from the same recording session were released as a limited edition double-7" set more than 10 years later). They also played with MDC, independent record label R Radical Records released some of their later recordings. As a style of music, hardcore punk seemed to spring up in various cities at the same time, and it is these three bands which are credited with its conception in Texas.

In 1983, Floyd relocated to San Francisco and, with new members Tim Carroll, Sebastian Fuchs, and Lynn Perko (formerly of all-women band The Wrecks), a second version of The Dicks began recording and playing. The LP Kill From The Heart was released in 1983 on SST Records and These People followed in 1985 on Alternative Tentacles. The group disbanded in 1986, although occasional one-off reunion shows featuring the Austin lineup occurred through the '80s and '90s.

The Dicks were unique for their era in that some of their songs, such as "Saturday Night at the Bookstore" and "Off Duty Sailor", addressed issues of homophobia and sexual identity. The queercore band Limp Wrist pays homage to Floyd and Randy Turner from the Big Boys, as well as Joshua Plague of Mukilteo Fairies and Behead the Prophet, No Lord Shall Live, as pioneers in this respect on their 2004 song "Ode".

Austin's legendary Butthole Surfers even wrote a song about The Dicks bandleader called "Gary Floyd", which ended their Psychic... Powerless... Another Man's Sac LP (1984, Touch and Go Records).

Gary Floyd later started the hard blues rock band Sister Double Happiness in San Francisco in 1986. After that band ended he formed and primarily played in Europe with The Gary Floyd Band; an overview of this material, "Backdoor Preacher Man", is available in the United States. Toward the late 1990s, Floyd played in Black Kali Ma, who released an album on Alternative Tentacles Records. Floyd is now in a band called the Buddha Brothers. Buxf Parrot and Pat Deason, of the original Dicks, play in the Austin, TX neo-bluegrass band Shootin' Pains. Perko went on to join Imperial Teen. Parrot and Deason played in Trouser Trout and Parrot and Taylor also played in Pretty Mouth.

In 2004 and 2005, the Dicks played a series of reunion concerts in Austin and beyond. The lineup for the shows consisted of the original Dicks, with the exception of Glen Taylor, who had died in 1997. His role was filled by Brian Magee. At the Austin show, the band was joined in singing "Wheelchair Epidemic" by David Yow, whose band the Jesus Lizard had covered the song on multiple records and who made the song a staple of their live act. Magee has since been replaced by Davy Jones.

During the March 16th, 2009 Austin Music Awards show The Dicks were inducted into the Texas Music Hall of Fame.

Present members:

* Gary Floyd – vocals (1980–1986, 2004–present)
* Buxf Parrott – bass, guitar, vocals (1980–1983, 2004–present)
* Pat Deason – drums (1980–1983, 2004–present)
* Davy Jones – guitar (2005–present)

Former members:

* Glen Taylor (deceased) – guitar, bass (1980–1983)
* Tim Carrol – guitar (1983–1986)
* Lynn Perko – drums (1983–1986)
* Sebastian Fuchs – bass, vocals (1983–1986)
* Debbie Gordon – manager (1982–1986)
* Brian Magee – guitar (2004–2005)