Sam Roberts

Antiwar songs by Sam Roberts
MusicBrainzMusicBrainz DiscogsDiscogs Canada Canada

Sam RobertsSam Roberts (born October 2, 1974) is a Juno Award winning Canadian rock singer-songwriter, whose 2001 debut release, The Inhuman Condition, became one of the bestselling independent releases in Quebec and Canadian music history.
Born in Pointe-Claire, Quebec, to South African parents, he attended Loyola High School and McGill University. Roberts formed the band that was eventually known as William in 1993. The band's name was changed to Northstar in 1996. Although the band gained some notice in independent rock circles, they couldn't break through to a national audience, and broke up in 1999. Roberts' bandmate George Donoso went on to significant success in indie rock circles with The Dears, but Roberts struggled for several years afterward.
After disbanding Northstar in 1999, Roberts promptly recorded the full-length and now very collectible independent debut Brother Down at home. In 2001, Roberts recorded and released a six-song EP, The Inhuman Condition, independently. The EP sold slowly at first, but following a re-release of the EP in the summer of 2002 on MapleMusic Recordings, his first single "Brother Down" became one of the biggest Canadian hits of the year, and the second single, "Don't Walk Away Eileen", followed suit in the Fall.
Roberts then signed to Universal Music and released his full-length major label debut, We Were Born in a Flame, in June 2003. That album's singles, "Where Have All the Good People Gone?" and "Hard Road", received a large amount of success, though mainly just in Canada.
The band's second album, "Chemical City", was released in Canada on April 2006. In Canada, the first single was "The Gate" which quickly shot to number one on Canadian rock radio. The second single in Canada was "Bridge to Nowhere". "With a Bullet", the third song used to promote the album on Canadian radio, received little attention and no video was made for it.
Roberts most recent album, "Love at the End of the World", was released in May 2008. It debuted at the number one position on the Canadian album chart, a first for Roberts. The lead single, "Them Kids", debuted on iTunes on March 4, 2008.
Sam Roberts is trilingual, speaking English, French, and Spanish. He married his high school sweetheart of 13 years, Jen, and they have a baby girl, Miriam Rose Roberts (born January 2007).

The members of the Sam Roberts Band as of 2008 are:

Sam Roberts (lead singer, guitar)
Dave Nugent (lead guitar)
Eric Fares (keyboard, guitar)
James Hall (bass)
Josh Trager (drums)
Past band members or roles:

Corey "Cuddy" Zadorozny (drums 2001-2005)
Dan Roberts (keyboards 2001-2002)
Dave Nugent played bass until James Hall rejoined the band in 2002
Eric Fares played lead guitar until James Hall rejoined the band in 2002