Luna Sea

Antiwar songs by Luna Sea
MusicBrainzMusicBrainz DiscogsDiscogs Japan Japan

Luna SeaLuna Sea is a Japanese hard rock band. It was formed in 1989 by Ryuichi Kawamura, Yasuhiro "Sugizo" Sugihara, Shinobu "Inoran" Inoue, Jun "J" Onose and Shinya Yamada, a lineup that remained consistent until the band's breakup in 2000. Luna Sea recently announced that they will reunite for a concert in December 2007.

Discovered by the late Hideto Matsumoto (then lead guitarist of X Japan), Luna Sea were signed by X Japan co-founder Yoshiki Hayashi to his independent label Extasy Records, on which they released their self-titled debut album in 1991.[2] Seven more studio albums and several singles and VHS/DVD releases would follow throughout the 90s, along with the band gradually dropping its original visual kei aesthetics in favor of a more casual look.

By 1995 the group's popularity had reached the point at which it would headline the Tokyo Dome, Japan's largest indoor live venue. Five years later, the stadium would also host the band's farewell concerts. Having already been on a year-long hiatus between releases of the albums Shine and Lunacy, Luna Sea decided to disband after two more performances on December 26 and 27, 2000.

Since then, the members have either pursued solo careers (like Ryuichi and J), new bands (like Inoran with Fake?) or collaborations with other musicians (such as the short-lived The Flare by Sugizo and Lazy Knack vocalist Yuna). Shinya mostly retired from the music industry after marrying Aya Ishiguro of the pop girl group Morning Musume. More recently, Inoran has left Fake? and reunited with Ryuichi to form Tourbillon in 2005, while Sugizo has joined the supergroup Skin in 2007, which also features pop/rock artists Gackt and Miyavi, as well as Yoshiki.[3]

On August 27, 2007 Luna Sea announced on its official website that the group will reunite for concert at the Tokyo Dome on December 24, 2007, titled "God Bless You ~One Night Dejavu~".