Antiwar songs by Republika
MusicBrainzMusicBrainz DiscogsDiscogs Poland Poland

RepublikaRepublika was a Polish rock band which began in 1978 in Torun, Poland. Originally, the band was founded and fronted by Jann Castor vel Wieslaw Rucinski under the name Res Publica. (See the links and notes below). The name took its origin from "Rzecz Pospolita" (Res Publica), but under the communist regime at the time the name was censored and not allowed. It has to be noted, that the band name was invented by Kris Caputa (Polish) currently residing in Victoria BC, Canada, who for the last thirty years worked in various fields of applied science, including astronomical instrumentation and numerical electrodynamics. One of the most notable member was the brother of Jann Castor, Zbigniew Rucinski, who was a guitar virtuoso - and it was him, who brought Grzegorz Ciechowski into the whole picture. The original art (black &white) was created by Ina Koneczna, an artist from Torun, which was later transformed (but based on her art) into black and white stripes that became the band's logo Republika became one of the most original European bands thanks to their specific anti-mainstream rock & roll songs and black-and-white performance motif. Their new wave-inspired music and lyrics, both catchy and poetic, forged a path into the Polish rock pantheon. Republika debuted at a new wave band concert in Torun in November 1981.

In June 1982 the band, consisting of Pawel Kuczynski (bass), Zbigniew Krzywanski (guitar), Slawomir Ciesielski (drums), and Grzegorz Ciechowski (vocal, piano, flute) began a three-month recording session, which resulted in the classic 1983 album Nowe Sytuacje. Within a year, Republika recorded Nieustanne Tango, which was a logical expansion of the anti-regime musical ideas they'd established in their debut. The band also released an English-language album, the Orwellian bell-ringer entitled 1984. Due to artistic quarrels, Republika disbanded in summer 1986. Grzegorz Ciechowski kicked off a solo career under as Obywatel (Citizen) G.C.; Kuczynski, Krzywanski and Ciesielski, along with vocalist Robert Gawlinski founded the band, Opera. Using unreleased Republika song sketches, Ciechowski released a solo album, Obywatel G.C., in 1986. His debut was an artistic success rather than commercial one; however his 1988 sophomore effort, Tak! Tak! was a blockbuster. In 1990, a concert in Opole acted as a catalyst for Republika's reunion. Only Kuczynski refused the proposition, so as a trio, the band issued their comeback album, 1991, which was a compilation of their well-known but rearranged songs. Kuczynski was replaced by Leszek Biolik, with whom Ciechowski, Krzywanski, and Ciesielski finished recording the final Obywatel G.C. album titled Obywatel Swiata (Citizen of the World) .

In 1993, the first live unplugged album Bez Pradu was released. The same year Republika recorded the classic album Siodma Pieczec, which presented a more acoustic countenance, with keyboards and samplers replaced by Hammond or Rhodes piano. In 1995, they released the rather pop-sounding album, Republika Marzen. Grzegorz Ciechowski's sudden cardiac death on December 22, 2001 interrupted production of the next Republika album. Four finished tracks along with 15 live songs comprised a double-CD simply titled Republika.

1 Original Members
2 Members
3 Discography
3.1 Studio albums
3.2 Other Albums
4 External links

Original Members

Jann Castor (Wieslaw Rucinski) - vocals, lead guitar
Grzegorz Ciechowski - flute (1957-2001)
Sławomir Ciesielski - drums, vocals
Paweł Kuczyński - bass guitar (1981-1986)


Grzegorz Ciechowski - vocals, keyboards, flute (1957-2001)
Sławomir Ciesielski - drums, vocals
Zbyszek Krzywański - guitar, vocals
Paweł Kuczyński - bass guitar (1981-1986)
Leszek Biolik - bass guitar (1991-2001)

Studio albums

Nowe sytuacje (1983)
English: New Situations
1984 (1984) (This was an English-language version of Nowe sytuacje, released in the UK by the Mega Organisation Ltd.)
Nieustanne tango (1984)
English: Incessant tango
1991 (1991)
Siódma pieczęć (1993)
English: The Seventh Seal
Republika marzeń (1995)
English: Republic of Dreams
Masakra (1998)
English: Massacre

Other Albums

Bez prądu (1993)
English: Unplugged
82-85 (1995)
Biała flaga (1999)
English: White Flag
Republika (2002)
English: Republic
Komplet (2003)
English: Box Set